Discovery Bundle – Rita Coolidge, Cindy Alexander, Keith Harkin

Blue Élan Merch



Rita Coolidge – Safe In the Arms of Time

2018 release from the veteran singer/songwriter. After ten years during which she bore witness to some of her life’s greatest joys and deepest sorrows – and the publication of her acclaimed 2015 memoir, Detla Lady – Rita Coolidge is back with Safe in the Arms of Time, her 18th solo album and a reaffirmation of her indomitable spirit and unquenchable creative thirst. Safe in the Arms of Time is colored by Rita’s pivotal role in the Los Angeles singer-songwriter scene of the 1970s, where she made her bones as a top backup singer – that’s Rita on the refrains of Stephen Stills’s “Love the One You’re With” and Eric Clapton’s “After Midnight” – before embarking on a platinum-selling solo career. “The idea was making an album that had the same appeal of my early records – to make a roots record about my own roots,” Rita says. Rita and producer Ross Hogarth gathered an all-star lineup of the era’s top musicians – guitarist Dave Grissom, bassist Bob Glaub, John “J.T.” Thomas on keyboards and drummer Brian MacLeod – at L.A.’s Sunset Sound Recorders, the famed recording studio where Rita recorded her first solo albums. The album includes a duet with Keb’ Mo’. Three songs were co-written by Rita Coolidge. Other songwriting contributions include Keb’ Mo’, Graham Nash and Chris Stapleton.

Cindy Alexander – Nowhere To Hide

2018 release. Singer/songwriter Cindy Alexander has that rarest of talents: the ability to write from a personal place that touches universal emotions in all of us. The idea of this record originated from Kirk Pasich, founder and President of Blue Élan Records. He wanted to capture the raw, emotional connection of Alexander’s acoustic performances that he’d been watching on stage for many years. The focus is on the artist and the song, and not on production. Nowhere to Hide became a concept – the record was recorded live in single takes, played together by the musicians in the same room. The only instruments involved were voices, a grand piano, acoustic guitars and dobro. Kirk set the stage, and allowed the musicians to do what they do best in an environment without restraints. The release features fan favorites spanning Alexander’s entire nine album career as well as covers of Bread’s “Everything I Own,” and Stephin Merritt’s “Book of Love.”

Keith Harkin – In The Round

2017 release from the former Celtic Thunder member. Thousands know him through his previous albums. Both his 2012 self-titled album and 2015’s On Mercy Street cracked the Billboard Top 75 Album Chart, and 2016’s Christmas album Nollaig debuted at #1 on the Billboard World Music Chart. But In The Round presents Harkin in an especially intimate setting – and as a result, establishes him as a uniquely accomplished artist. Backed only by longtime friend and guitarist Dave Bakey, he casts a spell from the first notes of “Lauren And I,” which he wrote and performed originally with Celtic Thunder, through the set closer “Wait On Me”. The set features fourteen tracks, including two previously unreleased songs co-written with Jack Tempchin (the songwriter behind Eagles hits “Peaceful Easy Feeling” and “Already Gone”) and a rousing rendition of the Irish traditional “Whiskey In The Jar”.