Rod Melancon – “Southern Gothic” Digital Album

Rod Melancon

Purchase includes unlimited downloads of Southern Gothic upon purchase.

*Available for desktop download only.

Track Listing:

  1. With the Devil (4:45)
  2. Perry (3:29)
  3. Lights of Carencro (3:29)
  4. Dwayne and Me (4:01)
  5. Promises (3:40)
  6. RedHead (3:35)
  7. Praying For Light (3:40)
  8. Mary Lou (3:19)
  9. Different Man (3:40)
  10. Outskirts of You (4:02)



2017 release. On Southern Gothic, Rod Melancon has brought the sound and feeling of South Louisiana’s storied towns filled with conflicted characters; his Americana songwriting filtered through a swamp-like, country blend that often borders on the parameters of psychedelic-rock. Deep in the swamp lands of South Louisiana, found in the small towns off State Highway 14, along the Parish lines and the borders that dwell with the native sons of this often unseen heartland, there are stories waiting to be told. There are ghosts to conjure up in the night fires and bayou jamborees. It takes a special artist to conjure up the soul of the land through song and story. Welcome to the world of Southern Gothic. It is a world that is uniquely Rod Melancon, born and bred in South Louisiana. Melancon has recorded a collection of songs that deliver the feel of haunted and hunted swampy, South Louisiana nights. Brian Whelan’s production takes the purity of Rod’s style, enhances and magnifies it. Each of these songs tells it’s own story, from the inner hell of addiction to the loyalty of a family friend, to an inside view of tragedy, to the redemption found in a life-long love.